1924 Wheat Penny Error?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Abigail2017, Dec 6, 2016.

1. Abigail2017

Abigail2017 New Member

I recently came across this1924 Wheat Penny that looks as if they mispelled UNUM as UKUM. Any idea if its valuable? Or am I just seeing things wrong? Appreciate any feedback. 20161205_214510.jpg 20161205_214454.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Abigail2017

Abigail2017 New Member

I recently came across this1924 Wheat Penny that looks as if they mispelled UNUM as UKUM. Any idea if its valuable? Or am I just seeing things wrong? Appreciate any feedback. View attachment 561666 View attachment 561667

4. ken454

ken454 Well-Known Member

welcome to CT abigail, i'd say the coin took a hit sometime in the past and moved the metal, copper is fairly soft and can move easily when it takes a hit...

5. Abigail2017

Abigail2017 New Member

Thank you so much for the reply. Appreciate it:)

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It is simple. The letter N in UNUM took a hit which misshaped it.
    This is not an error but what we call PMD - Post (After it left the mint) Mint Damage

There is no letter K used on the Reverse or Obverse of any Cent.

Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
    BadThad likes this.
  7. Abigail2017

Abigail2017 New Member

Thank you for your help.

8. chevellejdt69

chevellejdt69 New Member

I came across a 1924 penny with the letters cen stamped across the obverse side across Lincolns head. Any suggestions
    Who i should contact to find rarity of this coin.

9. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Create your very own unique thread with pictures. Is the word CEN incused into the Obverse and backwards?

10. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member