1922 Peace Dollar on eBay - worth it?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by 68KennedyHalf, Jun 5, 2016.

1. 68KennedyHalf

68KennedyHalf Junior Member

This raw 1922 Peace Dollar is going for $42. I like it, but I worry that it's cleaned, as I can't always tell unless the coin looks too shiny or has obvious parallel scratches.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

I'm an amateur in this realm, so wait on others to chime in, but I can't tell if it's been cleaned and the photos aren't sharp/clear enough to be sure. Personally, I like the look of the coin.

68KennedyHalf likes this.
  4. chromerunner

chromerunner ******

Its not been cleaned imo
    You can probably buy one in that grade already slabbed for same price or less

Smojo and 68KennedyHalf like this.
  5. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!

These look more like scans rather than photographs, so no opinion of surface preservation is really possible. Me, I walk away the moment I see more than one "+" written on a flip. :)

Considering this coin enjoys the single largest mintage of any US Silver Dollar, you can afford patience. :)

6. Smojo

Smojo dreamliner

I agree 100%. Plus huge mint of 1922's. You can find ungraded about same condition $27-$35, less if you search hard enough.

7. Markus1959

Markus1959 Well-Known Member

Nice coin but for that much $$ ungraded I'd pass.

8. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

I usually stay away from anything that says "PQ-Premium Quality". The photo is not good and the hype on the 2X2 is deceiving to me, why +++++++? For a common date this would not interest me at the price listed. JMHO.;) Edit...and I see way too many nicks on this coin to go with a Gem B.U. which usually intones an M.S.65 at least.

Last edited: Jun 5, 2016
  9. 68KennedyHalf

Great feedback -- thanks everyone. I'll pass on this one.