1922 No D wheat penny.

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Bryan Taebel, Jan 24, 2017.

1. Bryan Taebel

Bryan Taebel New Member

This coin appears to be in better shape than the last one I posted. Any ideas on value?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

First you need to determine if it's legit.

Last edited: Jan 25, 2017
    fish4uinmd likes this.
  4. eric6794

eric6794 Well-Known Member

That last 2 doesn't look right to me, maybe someone else can say for sure.

5. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

If memory serves me correct this early in the morning, 1922 was only minted at the Denver Mint and therefore should have the "D". Due to extreme pressure to produce cents, the Mint got sloppy and we now have a 1922 "No D Cent". Please beware of alter or removed Mint marks and counterfeit coins for 1922's.

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hey.. You are right. Ok, I just learned something! :wideyed:

Bryan Taebel and Collecting Nut like this.
  7. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

questionable, the spacing between the two 2's is strange

8. Bryan Taebel

Bryan Taebel New Member

While I am no expert I do have at least some of the history of the coin. My grandfather collected up until the late 80's. This was part of his collection. I can say for certain that he did not alter this coin but I guess it's possible that when he got it someone else had. Who is the best person to go through to get this coin certified for a reasonable price. And if certified what would be the value. Just trying to see if it's worth it to send it in someone and what the process is.

paddyman98 likes this.
  9. mikenoodle

mikenoodle The Village Idiot Supporter

One thing I can say for sure, this coin is NOT a die pair #2 coin, which is the most valuable variety.