1922 D Lincoln Cent ?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Defenderone, Dec 3, 2016.

1. Defenderone

Defenderone Active Member

error lincoln cents 019.JPG error lincoln cents 020.JPG The more I read about this coin the more confusing between the diferent dies used and weak D and the no D and the strong and weak reverse and the diferent opinions of the big professional grading services. Well I just want to share it and see what other opinions come up...all comments welcomed!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

IMHO concerning the Obverse
    All the Letters, Numbers and the D Mintmark look worn due to heavy circulation.

Seattlite86 and Defenderone like this.
  4. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

Too much wear for me to tell.

Defenderone likes this.
  5. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

It's a weak "D". The coin is a higher grade than it looks as the dies were very worn.

Defenderone and dwhiz like this.
  6. rlm's cents

rlm's cents Numismatist

Sorry, but it is a worn 1922-D. Not die #1 - not die crack. Not die #3 - strong O. Not die #4 - separation between the bust and rim. Oh, and die #2 does not have a weak "D".

eddiespin and CamaroDMD like this.
  7. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

Thanks for your diagnostics...we'll just disagree.;)

Defenderone likes this.
  8. rlm's cents

rlm's cents Numismatist

So which die is it? In order to be a weak "D", it has to be from either die #1, #3, or #4. Anything else does not qualify as a weak "D".

CamaroDMD and Defenderone like this.
  9. Defenderone