1921 Morgan. What grade?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by sakata, Mar 28, 2017.

1. sakata

sakata Devil's Advocate

I have never bought many Morgans and really don't know how to grade them. I got this one in the mail a couple of days ago and according to Photograde it looks like it may be MS63. But I am no expert and so thought I would ask for opinions here. I have larger images if need be. If I am wrong I would love to learn why.

EDIT: I added a 1887 which I purchased at the same time. How about that one?

SHUSA270.jpg SHUSA269.jpg

Last edited: Mar 28, 2017
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. HawkeEye

HawkeEye 1881-O VAMmer

It is always a little difficult to tell without the coin in hand, but I would not argue with either MS63 or MS64 for the 1887. Also, your 1887 is clashed at the top of the Eagle's right wing and slightly to the outside of the left wing. If these terms are foreign to you please look at www.vamworld.com for some explanation.

The 1921 series is an animal all its own and someone who deals with them needs to answer. It does not look quite as good as the 1887 to me, but just dealing with pix is tough.

4. sakata

sakata Devil's Advocate

You are correct. I have not idea what those terms mean. VAM is a mystery to me. I went to that page and type into the search box "what is a clash" and found nothing. As I said, I am not a serious collector of Morgans.

5. heavycam.monstervam

heavycam.monstervam Outlaw Trucker & Coin Hillbilly

The '21 looks like a 62/63 but the luster is sorta meh, so its kinda hard to tell if thats rub or wear.
    That 1887 is unique, as in if you havent noticed there is what appears to be a strike thru on the neck and under the chin and possibly below states on the reverse. Looks like grease maybe or debris caused this, i would of snatched that up in a heartbeat. On ebay in an unc holder that coin might go for a decent amount over what u paid including slab fees.

6. sakata

sakata Devil's Advocate