1914 Buffalo Nickel, could this be an error or PMD?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by LEyestone, Oct 10, 2015.

1. LEyestone

LEyestone New Member

Hi,
    I have this 1914-P nickel, on the front there's a mark under the Indian's chin that looks like a die clash. On the back there's 2 large marks by the buffalo's head, I thought that maybe it was PMD but it appears to have been stamped after the marks were already there. Maybe it was a damaged planchet? Any info on this would be much appreciated.
    Thanks 2-%255BUNSET%255D-016.jpg 1-%255BUNSET%255D-001.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hello. The 2 large marks on the Buffalos head is what is called a Lamination error.
    Here are the before and after definitions:
    Definition:
    Flakes of metal can peel off the surface off a planchet before the strike. Such planchet defects are generally attributed to the presence of contaminants in the alloy.
    Definition: Flakes of metal can peel off the surface off a coin after the strike. Such defects are generally attributed to the presence of contaminants in the alloy.

I can't see the area under the chin well enough to determine what it could be.

Last edited: Oct 10, 2015
    Rick Stachowski likes this.
  4. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

I agree with Paddy on the reverse 100%. The front, if I'm looking at the right place, looks like the extra finger on the 2009 Lincoln Cent so I'd say it was a filled die.

5. paddyman98

Say what? o_O

6. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

Our you guys forgetting about the strike through error on the reverse 23.jpg

eddiespin likes this.
  7. eddiespin

eddiespin Fast Eddie

I think I agree with Rick, Paddy, that's no lam, it's struck-through debris.

8. paddyman98

That's what I mentioned that it was a Lamination error

9. paddyman98