1913 S variety 2 Buffalo Nickel for 60 cents!

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Matthew Peak, Aug 24, 2016.

1. Matthew Peak

Matthew Peak Member

I was at a pawn shop, of all places, and bought a lot of 37 Buffalo nickels for 60 cents a piece. When I got home to check them out. In the mix was this 1913 S Var. 2 Buffalo nickel. Im new at this, but this looks to me to be in G4 condition. What would you do with this coin? Get it slabbed? Save it? Sell it as is? This coin graded in G4 condition has sold for $150-$190 recently on ebay. Screenshot_2016-08-24-21-30-03.png 20160824_204955_HDR.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Matthew Peak

Matthew Peak Member

There was also two 1913 S Var. 1 nickels, and about 12 pre 1920. All of them are in similar condition. Some a little better.

4. Markus1959

Markus1959 Well-Known Member

As worn as the obverse is does anyone else think this might be a "Nic A Date" coin? The date area looks a little lighter grey.

5. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

I see what you're talking about, but wouldn't want to say for sure without clearer photos. Hell, I can't even tell if the mintmark is an S and have to take the OP's word for it. ;)

6. BooksB4Coins

OP,

Best case, even assuming it hasn't been treated, the coin is still damaged and isn't worth submitting. This isn't to say it wasn't a fine pick up, but just that you're better off selling as-is if that's what you wish to do.

7. Matthew Peak

Matthew Peak Member

What is "Nic A Date"? There were quite a few coins without dates. And I apologize for the crummy photo.

8. Markus1959

Markus1959 Well-Known Member

From "Wizard Coin Supply" :

"This product will bring back most worn or faded dates on nickels. Even if you can't read the date, try Nic-A-Date to bring back the date so you can read it again"
    [​IMG]

9. McBlzr

McBlzr Sr Professional Collector