1913 D Wheat Penny with strange errors

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by youletmeworryaboutthat, Dec 6, 2018.

?

What is the potential value of this 1913 D Wheat Penny with strange cracks in planchet?

1. <1000

9 vote(s)
    90.0%
  2. >1000

1 vote(s)
    10.0%
  1. I have this 1913 D Wheat Penny with strange cracks on both sides of the coin.
    I am attaching pics to this post and would like to hear feedback on what this may be.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. This 1913 D Wheat penny has strange cracks in the planchet.
    I am wondering if this coin is valuable as a result of this deformity.

Please provide feedback.

I am new here and just learning as a result of coming into a rather large collection of coins, and I appreciate any help in regards to this particular coin in my collection.

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Those are intentional scratches
    PMD - Post Mint Damage
    Not a Mint Error

Not valuable. Only worth One Cent.

5. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Welcome to CT. Your coin is just damaged. It's worth 1 cent.

6. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

Someone had a box cutter and too much free time.
    Your coin is damaged and worth face value.

coinsareus10 likes this.
  7. lordmarcovan

lordmarcovan Eclectic & Eccentric Moderator

I basically agree with the two previous respondents that, due to the rather horrific damage your coin suffered, it is essentially worth only face value (one cent).

However, since the 1913-D is a slightly better date (worth $2.53 in G4 per Numismedia), you could adjust for the damage and hypothetically say that it's worth 25-50 cents or so to someone who was desperate enough to fill that slot in their album. It's what we old-time collectors used to refer to as a "filler", because of that.