1909 wheat penny value

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Kyle michaelis, Nov 4, 2021.

1. Kyle michaelis

Kyle michaelis New Member

image.jpg image.jpg Hello,

I am completely new to coin collecting but found this the other day.

What is this worth?

image.jpg

Attached Files:

bruthajoe and potty dollar 1878 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. potty dollar 1878

potty dollar 1878 Well-Known Member

Mabey a buck at the most,its not a v.d.b or (S)and pretty common in that condition.Just keep it still a 100+ year old piece of history.

Inspector43 likes this.
  4. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

It's a nice keepsake/memento but has little value. The coin is sealed in lucite so it can never be recovered, at least not safely.

Oldhoopster likes this.
  5. mrweaseluv

mrweaseluv Supporter! Supporter

Sealed in lucite... value $0.01... nice momento but no longer any value as a collectable coin

6. Mac McDonald

Mac McDonald Well-Known Member

It may be worth more as a general political collectable...like a pin or banner, etc...worth keeping for a while and test the waters in a few years, but still likely not much beyond a few dollars.

Oldhoopster and tommyc03 like this.
  7. Bradley Trotter

Bradley Trotter Well-Known Member

Arguably it's worth more as a political collectible, although probably not more than a few dollars, unfortunately. It was probably given out at a national or regional gathering of Republican-aligned activists and donors that year, if I had to guess.

Last edited: Nov 4, 2021
  8. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

It might be interesting if you could locate Mr. Steele and find out how many were made and the background behind it, other than what is stated on the card.

9. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter