1909-S VDB grade?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by vent1020, Oct 20, 2017.

1. vent1020

vent1020 Junior Member

I am still learning the ins and outs of QC coins. Can you tell me if you guys think this would grade details QC or if it seems okay. What grade? As always, thanks for any help.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

I don't know if that coin is real or fake. It's one of the most counterfeited coins in the world. A 1909-S VDB in that condition, would already be in a graded slab. If it's real, maybe it already came back questionable color and that's why it's not in a slab.
    If they felt the toning was unnatural it would come back questionable color.
    Why would anyone risk a 1909-S VDB by doctoring it with artificial toning?
    That's blasphemy.

Last edited: Oct 20, 2017
  4. vent1020

vent1020 Junior Member

Well, the reason for the close ups is to show the "S" is in the correct position and serifs are parallel. The VDB also is correct with the diagonal crossbar in the "B" These are the areas counterfeiters usually mess up on. There is no doubt in my mind it is NOT counterfeited. I'm just worried about the color. That is my weak area. I'm sure there are rare coins like this out there that have not been sent in to a TPG. Even with the QC, I might purchase this coin as it is really nice.

5. SuperDave

SuperDave Free the Cartwheels!

I have no problems with the gross diagnostics; on the small screen I'm viewing with, MM position is correct for #4 and VDB configuration passes. We'll stipulate for the moment it's genuine but I'm not calling it firm from a 5" screen. :)