1909-S Lincoln Cent Alpha Testing

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by justafarmer, Feb 3, 2017.

1. justafarmer

justafarmer Senior Member

Using TurboCad, I created two separate drawings. The 1st drawing is a tracing of the date “1909”. The 2nd drawing is a tracing of San Francisco MintMark MMS-001 that was the “S” mintmark used in 1909. I imported images of the 6 major 1909-S dies into my CAD work plane and overlaid the tracings over each image and created what I call emulated CAD drawings of the 6 major dies. The emulated drawings are attached to this thread.

How accurate is the process and the drawings? Well I don’t know. Post some images of these different dies showing the whole date with the mintmark and I’ll test them. 1909-S DIES.JPG

Rassi, SapphireSilver, Brina and 10 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Interesting.
    What is TurboCad and what else is it used for?

4. mikenoodle

mikenoodle The Village Idiot Supporter

cool stuff, farmer!

5. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

CAD is Computer Aided Design / Drafting. It is a tool used in most all design trades.
    It is one of the reason technology has been able to advance so rapidly. It is used to build just about everything these days.

6. rlm's cents

rlm's cents Numismatist

Not sure if this will help, but these are the 4 S VDB dies.

BTW, be sure to read the note for this picture's die #1.

upload_2017-2-3_12-19-55.jpeg

Brina, SchwaVB57 and Michael K like this.
  7. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna