1909-s IHC

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by lardan, Jun 13, 2024.

1. lardan

lardan Supporter! Supporter

Many of you know I collect Indian Head Cents, and am still working on it. Recently on Ebay I saw the most striking 1909-s IHC I have ever seen. For some reasons I can't get it out of my head. When I looked at it the last time it only had about 2 hours left and had 25 bids on it, and the current high bid was $1900 plus. I guess the reason I can't get rid of my thoughts is how such a striking coin can be so ruined, and so many people ready to buy it.

The coin was ungraded for good reason, the coin had to have been wissed by apparently an expert. I really didn't see any obvious wear. Minted the day prior by modern equipment. The finish was a medium colored brown and reminded me in appearance of a 1959 proof Lincoln Memorial Cent I have that is a proof 69RD minus the red. I couldn't find any other telltale whizzing signs and I looked very closely, but I am no expert.

The coin was so shiny and the fields were slick and smooth as glass. What I wonder about all those people bidding on it are they collecting a set, and so do all their other coins look this shiny, and appearing with no wear. If you have a set of raw, even appearing to be way better than the average raw set this coin would stand out immensly to the others. To me it would ruin the appearance as a set.

Just some of my thoughts of very ruined, but absolutely beautiful except to a true collector.

Cheech9712 and Randy Abercrombie like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Dynoking

Dynoking Well-Known Member

Pic’s?

lardan likes this.
  4. lardan

No I didn't get. I wish I would have gotten the sellers handle to see if he sold other coins like this as well. At the same time I was looking at this I was also thinking about if the bidders realized what they were actually bidding on.

Dynoking likes this.
  5. PlanoSteve

PlanoSteve Well-Known Member