1907 Indian Cent—help grading?

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by G8rDMD, Jan 15, 2018.

1. G8rDMD

G8rDMD Member

I intro’d myself in the intro forum...like I said there, not entirely new to coins or photography but I am new to coin photography and grading. I need your help with this 1907 Indian Head cent...
    AB7DA304-05DE-4764-A534-A0900075D530.jpeg
    187E5218-1AB6-41BF-A86D-32D98E49DB72.jpeg
    I know there are definite characteristics to look for, and I know grading is also subjective. Based on its red color, the presence of the 4diamonds in the ribbon and the few blemishes in the fields, I’m torn between MS62, 63 or 64. How do you know what the actual grade should be? It equates to a big difference in the coin’s perceived value. Please help this grading n00b, thanks!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

I have exactly the same problem. Technically this is an uncirculated coin...therefore at least MS60...now to get above this, many things are considered (I think), such as excessive bag marks or cuts in focus areas. Yours looks pretty clean, but I don't see much in the way of luster and the fields appear granular. This is characteristic of trying to grade from photos, but I'll take a stab at MS63 and see what the knowledgeable people say. Welcome to CoinTalk.

G8rDMD likes this.
  4. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

From your images I'm at Au 58 you may want to check this specimen in hand at Indianheadvarities as this date has like over 50 known rpd,mpd,ddo,ddr etc...

G8rDMD likes this.
  5. Paddy54

6. Kentucky

What makes you think not an MS grade?

7. Paddy54

Luster, some rubs I believe I see from the images...again coppers aren' my best suit... I may be reading this wrong but from what I see and the brain thinks I'm in the Au/ maybe low MS. And Again maybe it has been cleaned at least dipped.

G8rDMD likes this.
  8. G8rDMD

G8rDMD Member