1896 Barber dime opinions needed

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by detectorben, Jul 28, 2017.

1. detectorben

detectorben Member

So I am very new to the coin world and wanted to pick the experts brains here. I have been metal detecting for a few years but rarely find any coins with possible value. I don't think this dime is that special but it's my oldest dime to date and I was very careful not to rub or scratch it. I put it straight from the ground into my olive oil coin tube. I rinsed it with water and dabbed it dry. It looks to be in decent condition but that is coming from a detectorist so take it for what it's worth lol. What are your thoughts and opinions on condition and value? Would a coin like this ever be worth sending in for grading? If so would I send it exactly as is or would the light amount of soil on it need to be removed? I have a 1903 barber dime O mint found same day in same condition as well. I am eager to learn more about my finds and coins in general so I appreciate any input I can get here. Thanks![​IMG][​IMG]

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Seattlite86 and gronnh20 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. tommyc03

tommyc03 Senior Member

I'm not a grader of these in general but I would hazard a guess at a Fine. Nice detector find but not worth the expense of sending in. In Fine this is around a $50.00 coin if my guess at the grade is correct. Def. a keeper for sure. And if I have not said so before...welcome to CT! There's a few of few of us detectorists here and we'd love to see what else you have found.

Seattlite86 likes this.
  4. Kirkuleez

Kirkuleez 80 proof

Welcome to CT. Thank you for not scrubbing it with a wire brush to clean it off. It has held up well underground, but I'm not sure that it would get a clean (numerical) grade from the grading companies. I agree with Tommy, it looks to be a F-10 to me, worth $25-30. I'd stick it in an air-tite holder and keep it as a great find.