1891 S Morgan Silver Dollar - A few questions..

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Rosalita, May 19, 2020.

1. Rosalita

Rosalita Active Member

I am new to the coin community. Can someone please help me figure out what this 1891 S Morgan Silver Dollar would be worth. There are a few small carbon spots on the reverse and I was wondering if this would affect the grade and the 1891 S Obverse.jpg 1891 S Reverse.jpg value.

Also I would like to ask if this is a 1891 S Morgan Dollar VAM-5 Far Date, and if this would add or detract grade or value from the coin?

All comments on this coin will be appreciated to learn more of the coin world.

Thanks very much.

coin_nut and lordmarcovan like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Hookman

Hookman Well-Known Member

I don't know much about VAMs but I know a good looking coin when I see one, and I'm looking at one right now.

I would say you wouldn't have any trouble getting $50.00 for this coin, but others will have more accurate opinions on the value and also about the VAM.

Cointrackers.com, which is a handy site for silver values, gives this coin in "average" condition a value of $41.00 and in MS+ condition, a value of $1100.00. These are only estimates by Cointrackers.com.

Though the coin has some nicks and marks here and there, I like the overall detail that's visible.

4. lordmarcovan

lordmarcovan Eclectic & Eccentric Moderator

The coin looks to me to be in the AU (50-58) spectrum. Note the light wear over Liberty's ear, which makes this an About Uncirculated coin, just shy of Mint State. It might have been dipped (lightly cleaned), but may be market-acceptable in that regard. Doesn't look too bad to me, though the luster appears somewhat subdued in the photos.

I'd say it is a decent example (not fantastic, but certainly not bad either), and I would call it AU55, personally.

Here are the Numismedia prices.

In AU55, it lists for $44 (retail).