1889-CC morgan Smart purchase or REALLY BAD one.

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by ROB OZ, Jan 6, 2013.

1. ROB OZ

ROB OZ New Member

The title pretty much says it all. Took a gamble and bought an 1889-CC morgan. It looks authentic but I'm no expert. So I'd like to hear what you think. REAL or FAKE?

7_zps5ef20633.jpg

8_zps41116cd7.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. John Anthony

John Anthony Ultracrepidarian

Uh, well...it's got rather a cast look to it, as opposed to struck.

But I'll defer to the experts.

4. bkozak33

bkozak33 Collector

I would not buy that coin ungraded by a tpg

5. pumpkinpie

pumpkinpie what is this I don*t even

It appears to have the dead, lifeless look of a cast coin. How much does it weigh?

6. ROB OZ

ROB OZ New Member

On my el cheapo scale, 27 grams. It's not magnetic and is the right diameter.

7. lonegunlawyer

lonegunlawyer Numismatist Esq.

Where did you buy it?

8. Detecto92

Detecto92 Well-Known Member

I hate to say it, but i'm 90% sure it's fake.

9. Hunt1

Hunt1 Active Member

Can't say, but unless you can see this in hand before purchasing, this is the type of year/mm that you want slabbed by a TPG

10. lonegunlawyer

Also, I normally do not ask this outright, but how much did you pay for it?

11. ROB OZ

ROB OZ New Member