1885-0 mint/coin/human caused coin issue

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by DysfunctionalVeteran, Sep 23, 2016.

1. DysfunctionalVeteran

DysfunctionalVeteran Oddly enough

Description says die jam. I'm not sure what's going on with the edge or if it's reflection of some sort. What say you all?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

I want to say pmd but the weakness of the 8 and the near gone 5 says maybe strikethrough instead of pmd. Sure looks like pushed metal though indicating pmd.

4. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

NOT MINT MADE. You have a multi-gouged damage coin. :( Same "tool" used to damage the date.

5. DysfunctionalVeteran

What's pmd stand for?

paddyman98 likes this.
  6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

PMD is used a lot here on Cointalk.. very important to know
    PMD - Post Mint Damage or
    PSD - Post Strike Damage

In other words.. not an error

7. Insider

@paddyman98 I saw your photo w/Fred. I thought you were much older than you are.

paddyman98 likes this.
  8. DysfunctionalVeteran

That clears it up, thanks. Makes senses now. If there was a jam as stated there should be other damage in more places from unjamning it. At least that's how it works when I unstick things.

paddyman98 likes this.
  9. DysfunctionalVeteran

@Cascade did you see the other cracked 21 I picked up?

10. Cascade

Cascade CAC Variety Nerd

I dunno did I?

11. DysfunctionalVeteran

Nothing too speshull
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Cascade likes this.
  12. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

13. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

I didn't notice the flattened rims on the last one.

14. DysfunctionalVeteran