1883-O Morgan....authentic or no?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by hcmusicguy, Jul 7, 2015.

1. hcmusicguy

hcmusicguy Member

Picked this up on Ebay a few months ago. Its diameter is a hair smaller, and a hair thicker than a known silver dollar. When I do the ping test, it rings like a genuine silver dollar would, however the pitch is very slightly higher. I have a bullion test app on my phone that measures its ping frequencies against those of known coins, and it checks out ok with that. Its color is good next to known silver coins. Its weight is 26.67g and is not magnetic. It's just its diameter and its ping that bother me. What do you guys think?
    20150707_220636-1.jpg 20150707_220647-1.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

I'm far from a Morgan expert, but that 3 bugs me a lot.

Edit: ... but so does the 3 on a number of certified examples I've looked up.

4. chromerunner

chromerunner ******

Whats going on with the ear....

5. rzage

rzage What Goes Around Comes Around .

That ear is really weird , doesn't look like a hit . Bottom of the nose looks funny too . Guess I should check the mint mark . If fake it's a good one .

6. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

someone cleaned it ...

7. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

It does look like it has been polished. That may account for the "3" looking slightly unusual. The ear looks like it took a hit and pushed it to the southwest. I don't see anything else that looks too far wrong.

Chris

8. hcmusicguy

hcmusicguy Member