1875 20 cent trial proof

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by gsalexan, Jan 16, 2019.

1. gsalexan

gsalexan Intaglio aficionado

I was scrolling through an old, digitized book the other day on the Internet Archive and came across an interesting picture. This appears to be a test piece or essay for an 1875 20-cent piece. I'd never seen one before, but I'm no expert in this area. Obviously it isn't the design that was ultimately chosen for circulation. There wasn't any information included with the picture and I wondered it anyone on the forum might know about it.

20 cent piece essay.jpg

Kasia, Michael K and CoinCorgi like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

Never heard, or saw this. But that looks like a Barber design.
    Glad they went the other way. Hmm it says he was not the chief engraver until 1879. But it looks like his design to me.
    Thanks for posting.

4. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

Before a coin is actually produced for circulation, there are a number of "pattern" coins made. These are proposed designs. A huge number are drawn on paper, some are modelled in clay, some are actually engraved and struck. The mint officials then look at the proposed designs and decide what they like and don't like about the design, and send it back for another round of design, refinement, and engraving.

What you show here is a "pattern" coin, a proposed design struck in very limited quantities. This design was obviously not chosen for production. These pattern pieces are often highly collectible, and often quite rare. Because of this, their prices are usually quite high as well.

Judd wrote the standard reference on these pattern coins. The coin you are inquiring about is known as "Judd-1392." If you want to see more about these in the Heritage auction archives, see here: https://www.ha.com/c/search-results...=1&Ntt=judd+1392&ic4=KeywordSearch-A-K-071316