1874 A 50 Lepta Real of Fake?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Curtisimo, Dec 12, 2016.

1. Curtisimo

Curtisimo the Great(ish)

Hello all!
    I am new to both cointalk and collecting world coins in general so first of all I want to say thank you in advance for the benefit of all your collective numismatic knowledge :) Anyway, I think I may have made my first rookie mistake. I bought this 1874 A 50 Lepta (Greece) coin on eBay and then noticed that the seller had another Greek coin of the same vintage that was pointed out as fake in the eBay comments. After seeing this I realized I don't have the knowledge to tell if mine is real or not. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks again! IMG_3195.PNG IMG_3196.PNG

Pickin and Grinin likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. coincollector197

coincollector197 ANA Platinum member since 12/9/15

It looks like a genuine details grade coin.

4. Hiddendragon

Hiddendragon World coin collector

Looks good to me. It's not a rare coin so it's unlikely to be fake. Many Greek coins from the 19th century are rare, but this isn't one of them. Here's what mine looks like. Yours looks just like it. 1874 greece 50 lepta.jpg

laurentyvan likes this.
  5. Numismat

Numismat World coin enthusiast

The coin appears genuine. Did you purchase it from an eastern European seller? It's a common practice for a lot of those sellers to sell fake and problem coins alongside genuine ones.

laurentyvan likes this.
  6. Curtisimo

Curtisimo the Great(ish)

Thank you for your response! I thought it unlikely that anyone would bother to fake these low priced coins but knowing that there were questions on some of the sellers other offerings made me wonder. Plus the coin is in the right weight range and diameter.