1871 seated Liberty dollar. cleaned, polished, or dipped?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by AirborneReams, Sep 14, 2020.

1. AirborneReams

AirborneReams Supporter! Supporter

I’m taking this coin to a local coin appraiser prior to getting it graded as I usually do. My question is does this coin seem like it’s been cleaned, polished, or dipped? There’s small micro lines under a loupe but not enough to show me it’s been cleaned but I am fairly new to coin collecting and selling. I’m leaning more towards dipped but if so will this coin still need graded or should I get a return for the coin? Thank you in advance!

Attached Files:

capthank likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GH#75

GH#75 Trying to get 8 hours of sleep in 4. . .

It looks cleaned.

AirborneReams likes this.
  4. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

I will guess it would come back as AU Details Cleaned.

5. medoraman

medoraman Well-Known Member

I agree with others. That surface is not at all natural for a coin its age. That surface is at a minimum overdipped. Silver coins should never look like chrome.

AirborneReams and ZoidMeister like this.
  6. longshot

longshot Enthusiast Supporter

Agree with overdipped. Still, it might sell better if certified.
    If you paid a problem-free price and you can return it, you probably should return it. JMO

capthank and AirborneReams like this.
  7. AirborneReams

I’m thinking harshly dipped but with how much I paid I was hoping to make a good dollar off of it down the road. I may post as dipped/cleaned it’s still a nice coin or get a refund.. I’m taking it with a few other coins to a local appraiser, thank you for the replies!

8. medoraman

medoraman Well-Known Member

Just be careful with "local appraisers". Many people have come here with what their "local appraisers" said, and it was bunk. I would trust many here over most "appraisers" you find locally.

9. AirborneReams