1861 seated libert half, found in couch

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by robertxavier, Mar 26, 2015.

1. robertxavier

robertxavier Member

hi, my dad found this in a couch, any ideas on approximate grade and value? Thanx for any help, I would like to keep it, I am just getting into coins and need help. Rob image.jpg image.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Rheingold

Rheingold Well-Known Member

Cool find, congs.
    I say xf...worth around 100 Dollars.
    Hope the coin wasn't cleaned.

4. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

amazing find.

5. robertxavier

robertxavier Member

it doesn't look like it was cleaned at all, if it looks that way a bit, it may be the light shining down from the kitchen ceiling! it looks like it is in really nice condition, maybe it was sitting in that couch for a long time, my dad used to buy really old furniture and reupholster them and now and then would find something neat, this was one of them.. i went to pcgs , to photograde and was comparing the coin and thought maybe it was at least a 30grade, approximately... i was thinking maybe around $100.00 also, i saw several on ebay in this approximate condition and date selling for $100 - $175ish...

6. robertxavier

robertxavier Member

yes, i thought so! i was interested in coins a bit when i was little, now i'm 39, and have been collecting coin silver , and just recently becoming interested again and looking at other coins all the time online and at shops... i'm thinking maybe of using this seated liberty to start a half-dollar collection...

spirityoda likes this.
  7. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

of seated or type ? seated get expensive. lol

8. Yankee42

Yankee42 Well-Known Member

Wow must be an old couch.

SilverTabbyCat and swamp yankee like this.
  9. robertxavier

robertxavier Member

oh, i meant starting a half-dollar collection, the different types and years.
    i'm not sure where to start so i thought i would start with halves...