1859 1C PR Genuine Corrosion removed-XF Detail Coin

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Shag, Mar 13, 2018.

1. Shag

Shag Member

1859_1c_o2.jpg 1859_1c_r1.jpg 1859_1c_o1.jpg 1859_1c_r2.jpg

I read on PCGS Coin Facts that only 800 of these were originally struck.

Is this a rare coin?

JPeace$ likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Timewarp

Timewarp Intrepid Traveler

800 is Proof mintage. Regular mintage was 36,400,000. I don't have any recent values.

4. Shag

Shag Member

I am excited if it is correct that only 800 proofs were struck and I have one even though it may not be valuable.

I had no idea this was a proof coin when I submitted it for grading.

Thank you very much for your comment.

5. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna

6. Shag

Shag Member

I sincerely apologize if I have done something to offend anyone, that is not who I am. I just got excited when I found out that only 800 of these coins were struck.

I am very new at this and the last thing I want to do is offend someone.

Coin talk has helped me more than you will ever know. I am not in this for the money I am just trying to help a friend.

Again I sincerely apologize if I did wrong.

Silverhouse likes this.
  7. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

If only 800 proofs were struck (less survived?) this has to be a valuable coin even with the details grade.

8. baseball21

baseball21 Well-Known Member

Not as pricey as you would think. Early proofs don't get a lot of love, a lot of people would consider them undervalued.

9. C-B-D

C-B-D Well-Known Member

I like it. I'd be excited as well.

10. Shag

Shag Member

Thank you very much for the comments.

I again apologize if I have offended anyone. I appreciate coin talk very much because I can use all the help I can get when it comes to coins.

I did post this in another forum "Whats it worth" because I couldn't find any values for the coin in this condition or elsewhere in any of the price guides.