1857 Flying Eagle Cent Unc~untoned~Beautiful BU Surfaces

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Paddy54, Mar 31, 2013.

1. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

1234.jpg 4567.jpg Ok here's my question ..Just ran across this coin on the net as you can see from the title untoned/Unc/ BU surfaces. I am not familiar with Flying eagle cents series as a collector, however My eyes see's a lot of issues with this coins strike and wear. I won't post links to the sale or seller but am I wrong or is this coin far from being Unc/ as well as a very weak strike? Again I'm asking to educate myself as well as others .

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Jwt708

Jwt708 Well-Known Member

Definatley weak strike. I'm not sure on wear, the reverse looks like it could be wear. Would like to hear from the experts because I'm always on the lookout for a nice flyine eagle.

4. Dean 295

Dean 295 D.O.M.

I like it, I'm no expert. I do see some touches of wear just behind the eagles head feathers. other than that it's nice.

5. RedRaider

RedRaider Well-Known Member

I would grade it AU58 however I bet NGC would put a MS62 on it if it were sent to them. The strike is very weak on the reverse, and I do see the slightest wear on the feathers.

6. Jwt708

Jwt708 Well-Known Member

Question - how about the color, is that a normal shade for an AU example?

7. RedRaider

RedRaider Well-Known Member

Color looks MS to me. But I do see slight wear. it looks pretty lustrous from the pics provided as well.

8. Paddy54

If you look at the wheat stalks and ribbon on the rev you can see wear....and as mention the obv wear on feathers weak strike.

9. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

gorgeous grade, looks cleaned that orange looks funky/ or is it just a flash photograph ? still a gorgeous grade. nice find.

10. cremebrule

cremebrule Active Member