1854-S $5 "Discovery of a Lifetime"

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by brokecoinguy, Apr 19, 2018.

1. brokecoinguy

brokecoinguy I like what I can't afford

Last edited: Apr 19, 2018
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Nice story.. Thanks for sharing!

brokecoinguy likes this.
  5. awesomeitems

awesomeitems Member

Amazing story! Thanks for sharing.:happy:

brokecoinguy likes this.
  6. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

I'm going to see the Smithsonian example up close in a few weeks. I was awestruck when I received the NGC email about this one last night. I don't know which NE dealers examined it and declared it fake, but I never got to see it.

I'll be very surprised if this coin doesn't bring $1.5MM.

Sunflower_Coins and brokecoinguy like this.
  7. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

The 4 looks odd:
    ynitdkzngur5.jpg

brokecoinguy likes this.
  8. JPeace$

JPeace$ Coinaholic

Very cool discovery.

brokecoinguy likes this.
  9. Mainebill

Mainebill Bethany Danielle

I wondered who looked at it too. As i know most of them. Man I’d love to find that. I believe it’ll bring a million and a half plus

brokecoinguy likes this.
  10. Michael K

The first one I did a net search it says NGC. The 2nd one is the coin from the article.
    3814025-004o.jpg ynitdkzngur5.jpg

11. Omegaraptor

Omegaraptor Gobrecht/Longacre Enthusiast

As someone who loves early S mint coins (Seated and Liberty Head) this is an amazing find to me. However, the new discovery seems to be a different obverse die from the first coin.

I’ll use a denticle ruler like on Seated dimes. Going straight down from the tip of the bust and counting that as denticle 0, the first coin is position 0B1 (with the left tip of the bottom of the 1) while the discovery coin is a 1C. The date is in a different position.