1831 Bust Half an O-108?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Publius2, Feb 11, 2022.

1. Publius2

Publius2 Well-Known Member

I'm not that experienced in attributing Capped Bust Half Dollars but I do have two of the Overton books and have used the on-line references. This one looks like the common O108 with Obv 5 and Rev G.

Would the experienced members verify my attribution or correct me, please?

BTW, looks like a late die state and a weak strike. What do you think?

Thanks.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Magnus87

Magnus87 Active Member

We would like to help, but it’s VERY difficult without pictures…

Omegaraptor likes this.
  4. Publius2

Doh! Here they are.

1831 O-108 Obv.jpg 1831 O-108 Rev.jpg

5. charley

charley Well-Known Member

My opinion, worthless, is no.

The triangular pointed 5 is telling, as is the claws, feathers and "button". I understand what could be interpreted as rim "weakness", both obverse and reverse, but then the arrows (especially the center arrow) don't convince me.

I will defer to a certain member here that I admire for his evaluation of all things CBHs. He knows I am referring to him.

6. okbustchaser

okbustchaser I may be old but I still appreciate a pretty bust Supporter

112 and actually a pretty nice strike--just worn out dies.

charley likes this.
  7. Publius2

I wasn't sure about it because the obverse didn't look like a 108, Star 13 too far from the hair curl was the cause of my uncertainty. I'll go back and try again.

Thanks for the input.

8. charley

charley Well-Known Member

And there we are. I was certain my Call would be answered.

I of course concur with your commentary.

Cheech9712 likes this.
  9. Publius2