1826 Half-Cent - Presumed Fake

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by DavidTN, Apr 9, 2020.

1. DavidTN

DavidTN New Member

I have an 1826 Half-Cent (or, at least, that's what it appears to be) that has an oddity: There is no indication of the denomination on the reverse--just the laurel. Where one would expect to see "HALF CENT" (or whatever it's supposed to be), it's just a blank field in the center of the coin. I assume this is a fake coin, but one never knows. Has anyone ever seen anything like this? The pictures I have are not of the best quality, but if anyone is interested, I'll try again and post them. Thanks!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. -jeffB

-jeffB Greshams LEO Supporter

Please do post pictures, and welcome aboard!

Stevearino and Randy Abercrombie like this.
  4. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter

I'll second that. Would love to see this. Welcome

Stevearino likes this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

TTIWWOP.jpg

Raizac and spirityoda like this.
  6. M.B. Dean

M.B. Dean New Member

I’d love to see a photo. Where’d you find it?

7. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Welcome to CT. There is an error known as a filled die where some characters don't show up. Bad pictures are better than none so, give it a try!

8. DavidTN

DavidTN New Member

Okay, here are a couple of shots... DSC00467.JPG DSC00473.JPG

Pickin and Grinin likes this.
  9. Kentucky

Here's the reverse of an 1826 half cent from e-bay...
    [​IMG]

10. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

Genuine, just worn and if your look close HALF CENT is still visible.

Pickin and Grinin likes this.
  11. DavidTN

DavidTN New Member