1794 Large Cent...Here it is Marshall

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by mark_h, Aug 7, 2010.

1. mark_h

mark_h Somewhere over the rainbow

Newest large cent. I love the planchet, just wish more details on it. I am hoping Marshall will be able to attribute it. I will work on it later tonight. And as always all comments are welcome both good and bad.

[​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. coinmaster1

coinmaster1 Active Member

It is a 1794 Liberty Cap Large Cent, Head of 1794. According to the 2011 Red Book, this coin grades about AG-3, and worth about $140.

4. Penny Fanatic

Penny Fanatic Seated Half Collector

First off really nice coin mark_h!

Secondly: I'm really a novice when it comes to large cents but I sure do love the early ones, does anyone know why the reverse is worn down flat but the obverse isn't? Thanks

5. Lugia

Lugia ye olde UScoin enthusiast

my quick guess would be another S-65 like the one i got not long ago. its nice even with the flat reverse.

6. Marshall

Marshall Junior Member

This is a nice planchet and easily identifiable as Obverse 32. Unfortunately, that obverse die was used with 3 reverses.
    1. Reverse GG (No Fraction Bar) on the S-64 R5-.
    2. Reverse HH (Single Berry between D S) on the S-65 R1. Statistically, the most likely.
    3. Reverse LL (2 Berries between D S) on the NC-6 R8-. Ths die buckles and could explain the missing reverse detail, but I can't verify either a late die state on the Obverse or any detail on the reverse to attribute it.

The edge appears to be the Edge of 1795. Let me call it the distant L Edge until I verify which is which. It matches the second of my S65s.

Upon further review, I'm changing my mind on the Edge. The bottoms are too worn for accurate assessment on the spacing of the bottom of the Ls, but the tops of the L L and A are evenly spaced on the Edge of 95 and the Ls are closer and the A distant on the Edge of 94.

7. mark_h