1793 Large Cent Chain - Sheldon type

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Restruck, May 13, 2017.

?

What Sheldon Type is this ?

1. S1

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. S2

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. S3

100.0%
  4. S4

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Restruck

Restruck New Member

Hello Coin folks,

I am new to this page, and have already absorbed some good info on a few other threads. Looks like I am in the right place. So my thread will be about the different Sheldon types of the first US Mint coin. Now I am no expert just a person that wants desperately to learn like all people. I have a 1793 Chain that's G4 and was wondering if someone might be able to tell me the Sheldon type. I do not believe it is S1 I think I have an S3 possibly ? It's so hard to know for certain, because I am no expert. So here is the coin and maybe I can get an expert opinion. Any info would help I am tired of reading in books and or trying to google the explanation. Thanks all

Attached Files:

aubade21 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. aubade21

aubade21 Well-Known Member

It's a little difficult to tell because the glare on the coin obscures the details, but from what I can tell, it's an S-3. The position of the date is about all you need to make this determination.

It's a very nice coin, and if you're a copper enthusiast I'd recommend looking joining the EAC (eacs.org). You get access to a massive amount of information and meet some pretty shrewd collectors.

Restruck likes this.
  4. Restruck

Restruck New Member