1778 Yorktown $20 Colonial Note HELP!

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by LostDutchman, Dec 2, 2010.

1. LostDutchman

LostDutchman Under Staffed & Overly Motivated Supporter

I had this note for sale on EBay and had someone mention that this note might be a contemporary counterfeit. I pulled the note and wanted to see if anyone knows enough about these to enlighten me. I have seen genuine examples of this note graded by PMG. I know enough about colonial notes to buy the common ones fairly but I know nothing about counterfeits. I have read that this is a pretty scarce note if genuine. Can anyone help?

pennsylvania 20 dollars 1.jpg pennsylvania 20 dollars 2.jpg [​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Dr Kegg

Dr Kegg Star Note Fanatic

Sorry, I am not an expert on Colonial Notes. My suggestion? Send it in for authentication through PCGS or PMG. Pay the cost to have peace of mind!

4. LostDutchman

That was the next step I just wasn't sure if we had a resident colonial guru here I could get a preliminary opinion from. Probably have to go that direction.

5. kathynumismatis

kathynumismatis Heritage Auctions

The previous issue, April 11, 1778, was the Yorktown issue and those notes were heavily counterfeited. Newman's The Early Paper Money of America does not list counterfeits for that denomination of that issue. It's hard to tell from the image what color the paper is. There were counterfeit detectors for that issue that were printed on blue paper.

6. LostDutchman

That picture represents the color of the paper about as accurately as I could.

7. CheetahCats

CheetahCats Colonial & Early American

Do you have a known specimen to compare it with? You probably already know this... the leaves were used in those days to deter counterfeiting.

8. LostDutchman

9. coleguy

coleguy Coin Collector

I'm not a colonial guy, but I do know some contemporary counterfeits are worth more than the original notes being counterfeited.

10. CheetahCats