10 Dollar Indian 1909 D

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Rheingold, Feb 4, 2016.

1. Rheingold

Rheingold Well-Known Member

Do you think this coin shows original surface quality?
    Whats the possible grade?
    1361_01285a00_c.jpg

swamp yankee likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Insider

Insider Talent on loan from...

No, wrong color. AU 58 that I should sell at 62 to 63 price.

4. mark_h

mark_h Somewhere over the rainbow

I am no gold expert so wait for someone that knows a whole lot more than me. But the pictures make that coin look lifeless to me - I see hints of luster, but just something about the color and smooth cheek makes wonder. I would say low AU. Just my swag and I really do not study gold.

Insider likes this.
  5. Insider

IMO, you know more than you let on. "Lifeless" and definite change of color on the wear points - cheek is one as you pointed out.

Now, just saying...coin cannot grad LOW AU because it has little wear (many here won't even see it) and the surfaces are "clean - unmarked" so should be high AU.

Let's forget about whether the surfaces are natural (the marks are the same color of the surrounding surface and not "fresh"). They probably are not - so possible a details grade if slabbed. Let's not open that can :arghh:

6. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".

Now if there were a Matte Finish version... which I don't know of.

Insider likes this.
  7. Insider

That would make it a Denver Mint Proof!

8. V. Kurt Bellman

Tee hee. "The very rare and very dangerous..."

Insider likes this.
  9. Rheingold

But at first glance it shows a generous quotient of eye appeal.
    Because of this are you able to sell it for MS62 money, Insider?!

10. V. Kurt Bellman

[​IMG]

Mainebill, Insider and swamp yankee like this.
  11. Rheingold

So I don't think it's a bargain for 750 Dollars.
    Thanks for your help.

swamp yankee likes this.
  12. Paddy54