1 Cent collar slip or luck token

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by alurid, Oct 22, 2016.

1. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

I got this cent recently in a paper envelope that said "odd stike through perfect" and
    "obverse circumference greater than reverse" then "struck without collar, UNC.
    And someone wrote "or came out of encased cent disc ?" What do you think? DSC04087.JPG DSC04091.JPG DSC04092.JPG DSC04090.JPG

Mad Stax and paddyman98 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Looks like it was encased in the past. They use high pressure to enclose Cents that causes this.

4. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

My thought is that if it was encased it would have some wear on it. It still has 95
    % + luster, uncirculated condition, DSC04089.JPG no scratches or marks.

5. paddyman98

It could have been encased as soon as it was minted then kept somewhere safe for a long time until someone decided to release it. I have done it.

6. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Looks like it came from a lucky holder to me. Cool looking coin.

7. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

It was encased. It might have then been put in a drawer to sit for many years.

8. paddyman98

s-l300.jpg
    A Coin Bezel can alter the edge also
    (Not my coin)

9. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

Doesn't an encased coin get smaller not larger? The obverse of this cent measures at 20mm. The reverse is 19mm.

10. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

It didn't come from the Mint looking like that.

11. paddyman98

Look at my post #7
    I also mention a Bezeled coin.. different type of encasement. A coin can be altered many ways. Smaller or larger. I have seen many over the years.
    I have never seen a Partial collar error slope the way yours does. Only encased coins. Not an error.

12. Hommer

Hommer Curator of Semi Precious Coinage