Which TPG is "stronger" for each series?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by WRSiegel, Apr 23, 2014.

1. WRSiegel

WRSiegel Freshman

I apologize if this thread topic has been discussed 100 times already; I'm not very good with the search feature here. What got me thinking originally was Eisenhower Dollars, but I'm curious for all series if you all have any knowledge you'd like to shine on me :)

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. CamaroDMD

CamaroDMD [Insert Clever Title] Supporter

Actually, I think this is a great thread idea (assuming it's just PCGS vs. NGC). Having this info in a single thread would be an excellent reference.

Speaking of Ike's, based on what I have seen...PCGS is the preferred with it comes to Eisenhower Dollars as they seem to be stricter.

4. rzage

rzage What Goes Around Comes Around .

Definitely in Lincolns , PCGS doesn't like to give out 67s where NGC will . In the other grades they're pretty even . But you now will pay more for a PCGS MS-67 than a NGC -67 .

Last edited: Apr 24, 2014
  5. Atarian

Atarian Well-Known Member

NGC is too easy on Eisenhower dollars. PCGS is more strict (i.e. more accurate) - most of the time. I still wonder about most of the PR70DCAMs...

swamp yankee and krispy like this.
  6. coleguy

coleguy Coin Collector

Like Camaro said, this is a great topic for a thread. Even though I'm not a big slab guy, I do still buy them. I like PCGS for gold. NGC for most everything else.

swamp yankee likes this.
  7. tmoneyeagles

tmoneyeagles Indian Buffalo Gatherer

Indian $2.5 and $5 pieces are graded tougher by PCGS from what I've seen--honestly, most pre-1933 gold is in general. That might stir up some controversy as that is one of the lines from Collector's Universe, but it's an opinion I've begun to side with after seeing so many examples.