What do you think?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by digibyte, Aug 28, 2013.

1. digibyte

digibyte Member

What do you think about the color on this copper two center? I've seen this type of coloring before, but not sure if it is a natural effect or man made. I'm not experienced enough to know if this is altered in some way. I did notice that there is some wear to the leaves on the left, but only slight overall wear. I am a little suspect because this same dealer sold a guy I know a colored coin with rim wear as a unc problem free coin. He was a newbie and fell for it. I suggested he ask for a refund even though it was 10 months ago and low and behold they gave him a full refund.

$T2eC16Z,!yUE9s6NGw)SBSDk,u5tOQ~~60_3.JPG

$(KGrHqF,!qsFH3Ip)VQMBSDk,zg-lw~~60_3.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

I see nothing amiss regarding the toning.
    I'd have to poke around a bit but I believe I have slabbed coins with the same toning.
    It's been handled and the natural skin oils make it look like that.

4. non_cents

non_cents Well-Known Member

Beware of GCG...that's all I have to say. I've heard some stories of nicely-pictured coins being received cleaned, scratched, etc...

C-B-D likes this.
  5. Collect89

Collect89 Coin Collector

IMO the coin in the photo looks like it may be AU50. I say "may be" because it is difficult to grade from a photograph & some coin dealers take very interesting photos. If you do not know the dealer, you can do a search for GSC or Great Southern Coins at CT.

C-B-D likes this.
  6. digibyte

digibyte Member