VALUE AND GRADES OF NATURAL TONED COINS

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Chance Thompson, Sep 4, 2013.

1. Chance Thompson

Chance Thompson New Member

Trying to get more information on the different types of toned coins and their values and what to look for with different types of toneing on them

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. non_cents

non_cents Well-Known Member

You're going to have to be more specific...the additional value of a coin with toning is subjective. Obviously higher-graded coins with toning will command more of a premium than lower-grade toners, but it varies from coin to coin.

4. ace71499

ace71499 Young Numismatic

Im not an expert but im pretty sure we need a specific coin to even start discussion... you have one to show us?

5. Tom B

Tom B TomB Everywhere Else

Toning can bring out strong emotional responses from collectors so this is very much a case-by-case topic.

6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Wow! This topic is so broad, and there are so many possibilities. It's like taking the digits 01-99 and listing all of the different 6-number combinations.

Let's start off with rainbow, crescent rainbow, cat's eye, target toned, Ti-D-Bowl just to name a few, but even more difficult is placing a value on them since there is no pricing guide. For example, my avatar is an 1883-CC NGC MS65. I won this at auction from a good friend of mine. Less than two weeks before, this same seller had one almost identical to it with a similar dispersal of colors. That one sold for $1250, and I won mine for $511.

It all boils down to how many people are bidding, and who wants it the most.

Chris

7. bsowa1029

bsowa1029 Franklin Half Addict