New to Collecting

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by yuri, Apr 18, 2014.

1. yuri

yuri Member

I am new to collecting coins and therefore full of questions.
    I don't seem able to ask a question in the ask question section of the site though?!
    As a new arrival the ask question section would be the one I would be posting most of all, can anyone explain to me why I have had my account limited in this way? I'm not trying to cause bother, but I simply cannot fathom the logic of not being able to ask questions when it's the very thing a new arrival is bound to be full of?
    Please don't anyone get angry with me, I simply am without knowledge.
    Help!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. John Anthony

John Anthony Ultracrepidarian

I don't know the answer to your question, but welcome to the forum and go ahead and ask a question. :)

yuri likes this.
  4. yuri

yuri Member

Thank you for your friendly reply John,
    as I am as green as grass and only possess coins left to me by my late father, I ask in all innocence, is cleaning coins good or bad?

5. yuri

yuri Member

Oh, what is slabbing by the way?

6. John Anthony

7. yuri

yuri Member

Then am I sad or weird because I want to hold the coin, not a piece of plastic?

8. yuri

yuri Member

And my other question about cleaning did you miss it or were you too shocked to answer?
    I am as green as grass, I came on here to learn so please don't think I am trying to be funny, I'm just a bit dumb at the moment.

9. Collector1966

Collector1966 Senior Member

Cleaning coins is not a good idea, especially for the novice, since that can ruin the value and collector appeal of a coin.

yuri likes this.
  10. John Anthony