Difference between cameos and proof

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Steverino, Apr 20, 2014.

1. Steverino

Steverino New Member

Hey all. Remember that I am new to all this so pardon me if this is an easy question. What exactly is the difference between a cameo and a proof coin (if any)? I am working on a set of Rosies and am wondering if I will need to assemble both a cameo and a proof for each proof year. Thanks!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Cameo (CAM), Deep Cameo (DCAM) or Ultra Cameo (UCAM) are attributes given to proof coins.

The term, proof, refers to a method of production.

Chris

Steverino and Tom B like this.
  4. Lehigh96

Lehigh96 Toning Enthusiast

Proof is the method of manufacture where a coin is usually struck several times with specially prepared polished dies and planchets. Proof coins can have simple mirrored surfaces, CAMEO which refers to a coin with frosted devices and mirrored fiels resulting in a contrasting appearance, or DEEP CAMEO which refers to a CAMEO coin with a very strong contrast between the mirrored fields and frosted devices.

Proof Coin: (No CAMEO)

[​IMG]

Proof Coin: CAMEO

[​IMG]

Proof Coin: DEEP CAMEO

[​IMG]

Paul_62, Steverino and geekpryde like this.
  5. Tom B

Tom B TomB Everywhere Else

To expand a little on what Chris wrote; a cameo proof will have raised devices that are frosted somewhat instead of a mirror finish throughout whereas a deep (ultra) cameo will have heavily frosted devices.

Steverino likes this.
  6. Troodon

Troodon Coin Collector