1982 P Small Date Lincoln Cent?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by 51Caveman, May 14, 2024.

1. 51Caveman

51Caveman Active Member

I was going through my Desk and trying to clean it up. I ran across a small Dixie cup and found two 1982 Lincoln Cents in it and one of them made me super curious. I took some pics with my phone and a coin microscope. Pics aren't that great but I measured it with Photoscape to see if a line underneath the Date would confirm it was a small date or not. I believe it is. Also it weighs 3.11 grams. Do I have a winner?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

There are 7 known business strike varieties for 1982
    Capture+_2020-11-01-09-52-56.png

You have found one of over 10 billion Minted in 1982. Nothing special about it.

It is a small date. Here is some information to help you..
    Capture+_2021-04-28-07-38-57.png

1982-large-date-vs-small-date-lincoln-cent.jpg

Cheech9712 likes this.
  4. Snowman

Snowman Senior Member

Small date 1982 Cu has a very small mintage of the total 82's minted. It should be around 4 to 5% of the total no mint mark 82 Lincolns. They are a little tough to find.

Attached Files:

51Caveman and alurid like this.
  5. CoinCorgi

CoinCorgi Tell your dog I said hi!

1982 (P), copper, small date.

Nothing special.

6. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

Good for urinary tract infection......(devil)

CoinCorgi likes this.
  7. paddyman98

If you go to the following website this statement is made..

1982 P & D Large and Small Dates (lincolncentresource.com)

Why did the mint Create 7 Varieties?