Guess the Grade #563

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by rlm's cents, Sep 18, 2013.

?

1930-S NGC Grade?

Poll closed Sep 25, 2013.
  1. Genuine/details

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. 62

5.6%
  3. 63

11.1%
  4. 64

11.1%
  5. 65

38.9%
  6. 66

33.3%
  7. 67

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. 68

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. rlm's cents

rlm's cents Numismatist

1930-S NGC slabbed

NOTE: If you don't vote in the poll, your vote will not be counted.

1930-S NGC O.JPG 1930-S NGC R.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ToughCOINS

ToughCOINS Dealer Member Moderator

4. EyeEatWheaties

EyeEatWheaties Cent Hoarder

65RD im always on the high side so second guessing myself nope dont do it! 65 final answer

5. ReaperRuler

ReaperRuler Resident Numismatist

6. bahabully

bahabully Junior Member

7. Camreno

Camreno Active Member

8. BadThad

BadThad Calibrated for Lincolns

I think I see lots of LDS luster.

9. ck1of2

ck1of2 Member

I am new to this hobby and love using this forum to gauge my grading and trying to learn as much as I can. Not being familiar with the 1930 S, could anyone tell me if the "AT" in STATES, "OF", and "C" in AMERICA is a typical characteristic for this coin?

10. rlm's cents

rlm's cents Numismatist

Typical for the year, not really. It looks like there was a touch of grease on a fairly well used die. However, it is not as bad as the picture makes it look.

11. ck1of2

ck1of2 Member

Thanks for the information. I'll say 64

12. BadThad

San Fran was still working on some problems they had starting in 1920 with quality. All of the coins they produced through the 20's are known for their awful strikes and bad planchets. Things started improving in 1928 - as I recall the S mint workers where threatened by management- so they were still working on things in 1930.