Guess the Grade - 20 Cent Piece

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by ddddd, Nov 24, 2017.

1. ddddd

ddddd Member

Please guess the grade:

z.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. ddddd

ddddd Member

Also, would this be a die break? And for those that know, is this considered extreme or fairly normal for this coin series?

By the way, it continues through "STATES", but I only circled the most obvious part.
    z2.jpg

4. ddddd

ddddd Member

@Paddy54 here is one where you can participate!

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Looks like a Retained Die Break (CUD that is) ;)
    VF30 or VF35

Last edited: Nov 24, 2017
    ddddd likes this.
  6. Beefer518

Beefer518 Well-Known Member

VF30, same as above, but I might throw a details at it. The obverse looks cleaned to me, but I don't see it (or not as obvious) on the reverse.

Love that die break!

ddddd likes this.
  7. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Well to my eye it is a detailed cleaned coin in vf and it is also an FS-20-18755 S -301. MPD
    However the variety doesn't add value as the rarer specimen wouldn't have the MPD in the denticles.
    The coin in hand may also show a rpm s/s as the die clash above the eagles head leads me to believe it in fact a dual variety coin.

ddddd likes this.
  8. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

I'll go with 35. I also wonder if the obverse caused a details grade.

ddddd likes this.
  9. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Forgot to say, I love all the stuff going on with the reverse.

ddddd likes this.
  10. Paddy54

Must admit even though I believe it to be detailed the cud ,die cracks, mpd and rpm would be more then enough to pull the trigger.
    Add to the list a bisecting die crack from T in cents to T in states.
    So it has 5 varieties to look at on one coin.

ddddd likes this.
  11. ed wood 654

ed wood 654 Grader & Entrepreneur /Aviation Executive