Guess the Grade-----1945-P Jefferson Nickel PCGS

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Lehigh96, Jun 21, 2010.

?

Guess the assigned Grade!

1. MS62

5.9%
  2. MS62 FS

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. MS63

5.9%
  4. MS63 FS

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. MS64

5.9%
  6. MS64 FS

5.9%
  7. MS65

17.6%
  8. MS65 FS

23.5%
  9. MS66

17.6%
  10. MS66 FS

17.6%
  1. Lehigh96

Lehigh96 Toning Enthusiast

This should be an interesting guess the grade. Please view the photo below and vote in the attached poll.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

After you have voted, I would love to hear your reasons for your grade.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. mark_h

mark_h Somewhere over the rainbow

Sure no problem - first you know I am not an expert on these. I started to go with MS64 since all the little tick marks seem distracting to me. It is lusterous, seems like a decent strike for monticello and maybe the pictures just make it look more "ticked" marked up than what I think a 65 or 66 should have. Next I think PCGS would say FS and NGC might say 5 FS. So basically that was my purely SWAG. I got to admit I like the way the pictures make this puppy show nice luster. At times I am not sure how far luster can carry some coins over bag marks. My humble opinion.

4. Shoewrecky

Shoewrecky Coin Hoarder

I want to say MS65/66 however before i do I would like to agree w/ the above poster "Next I think PCGS would say FS and NGC might say 5 FS." I think there are to many nicks for it to be a 66 however I have a funny feeling some of the nicks were over looked due to its pure beauty. Knowing you and the nickels that you shown before I cant imagine you would have bought a m64 so i went with 66 FS. It's a stunning coin w/ great luster.

5. rlm's cents

rlm's cents Numismatist

Too many ticks for a 66 but they are not major enough to call it a 64. I am pretty sure I am seeing filled steps under that second pillar.

6. mikenoodle

mikenoodle The Village Idiot Supporter