Guess the grade---1903 V Nickel

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Speedy, Nov 26, 2007.

1. Speedy

Speedy Researching Coins Supporter

Alright guys...
    I think this one is alittle tricky! The photos don't show it very good but the front of the coin is toned soooo pretty. If the coin wasn't toned and didn't have the eye appeal that it has now I would say it was overgraded by a point or so....
    I don't collect V Nickels but this one jumped out at me.....

Let me know what you grade it.
    Your thoughts on the coin, good or bad. :whistle:
    Who you think graded it, and what they graded the coin as!

Hope ya'll have fun!

Speedy

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. monkeyman

monkeyman Coin Hoarder

beautiful coin! I too love that toning on the obverse. As for grade, I'm not very good at grading MS grade coins but i'd say NGC graded it as an MS 65 and my personal grade is also a 65

4. rlm's cents

rlm's cents Numismatist

I am not much into nickels either, but my first comment when I saw this was "HOLY #$%#$". Two questions first:

! Is the observe off center?
    2. Is the scratch 10:00 to 11:00 on the observe on the holder?

5. zaneman

zaneman Former Moderator

I really like the toning on this one. The front is quite clean, but the same cannot be said for the reverse. I suspect the coin is graded ms-64, and if that is the case I would agree based on the overall eye appeal.

6. zaneman

zaneman Former Moderator

I will also add that it wouldn't surprise me to see it in a 65 holder.

7. Bedford

Bedford Lackey For Coin Junkies

MS-64
    Nice Lib. !

8. Speedy

The first question---No--that was just my photo and me putting black around the edge.
    2nd....that is on the holder....
    The front is pretty clean, as Zane pointed out, but there is that nick on the neck....

Speedy

9. clembo

clembo A closed mind is no mind

Obverse is GORGEOUS and I do think the "scratch" at 10:00 is on the holder. LOVE the tone.