bad coin grading services

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by gregshep2000, Mar 7, 2004.

1. gregshep2000

gregshep2000 New Member

Hi,
    I'm a newbie and am wondering what are the good coin-grading services and, more important, if there are any I should stay away from. Thanks for any advice on this.
    Greg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

As a general rule - NGC, PCGS, ANACS and ICG are the best of the lot.

To be honest - there are some very nice coins that can be found in any slab - but you need a good bit of experience to know them when you see them. I'd stick with the top 4 until you get that experience.

4. bigd349

bigd349 New Member

PCGS and NGC are the best 2 in my opinion. PCGS has the best resale value of any of them. The ones to stay away from, PCI, AGC, NTC,and SGS.

5. mhinchley

mhinchley New Member

I agree with the previous posts basically. Here is a 3rd parties opinion on all of the grading services. http://www.camacs.com/coin_grading_services.html#PCGS
    Please note that Accugrade's info is missing because they are suing everyone for badmouthing them. But keep in mind, they are being badmouthed for a reason, because they do not adhere to the general MS coin grading standards, though on their slabs, they make it appear as they do. Avoid them at all costs. So check out that site and decide for yourself. I am partial to ICG because of their grading consitency and I believe they have the best slabs available, as far as preservation goes.

6. National dealer

National dealer New Member