1959 Franklin - Guess the Grade ;)

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by physics-fan3.14, Sep 28, 2009.

1. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?

This is a very special coin - can anyone besides jacerevone tell me why?
    I'll be doing a very complete write-up about this coin when its twin arrives, hopefully in the next day or two. Until then, guess the grade - and its not what you think it is ;) The grade on the slab is only part of it.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Bazz

Bazz Member

I am an extreme novice at this but I'll risk having my chops busted. As far as what makes this coin special I have no idea. As for the grade with the wear at the hair and the 1 on the obverse and some wear and scratching on the bell I would go with an AU 58.

4. physics-fan3.14

The blurry 1 is an artifact of a scratch on the slab. I'll just say this Bazz - you are way off. Care to try again?

5. abe

abe LaminatedLincolnCollector

I believe if there was one less nic you'd have a 65. The 1 drags you down another point. MS- 63...

6. physics-fan3.14

Again, the 1 is a scratch on the slab. Believe me, this coin is very nice.

7. abe

abe LaminatedLincolnCollector

OK, with that in consideration, are their hidden scratches under the toning on the obverse? The reverse is beautiful.

8. physics-fan3.14

There are die polish lines scattered lightly across both faces of the coin. The surfaces have some light speckly toning (you can see it best on Franklin's scalp), but there is more going on here. I'm not sure if you can tell from the pictures....

9. jhc

jhc Junior Member

Does it have something to do with the smooth rims?

Don't know all the lingo yet perhaps no reeding?

10. Bazz

Bazz Member