Whats a realistic sell price for .925 silver?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by cerdsalicious, Jan 14, 2010.

1. cerdsalicious

cerdsalicious BigShot

So heres the deal
    i got 1 lb and 7 oz of stamped .925 silver
    and I also got another one that weighs in total about 6 lbs, including this wodden block mount. I am guessing it owuld weight at least 2 lbs for the silver also stamped.
    Now the place I took it to told me that they would pay 65% of the silver asking price per ounce because its .925.
    So is this realistic or are they trying to pull a quick one?
    With such big amounts you can understand why I would care, If it wasnt then I could care less but I am trying to maxamize profits. :eat:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. umtrr-author

umtrr-author Thalia and Kieran's Dad

I would get some additional quotes from other potential buyers. Businesses do make money from the spread between buy and sell. I'm not an expert but 65% of spot seems a little low. Maybe someone with experience on the other side of the counter can help out here.

Many silver coins are 90% silver, so the 92.5% silver content should not be a factor in a purchase offer. It would be easy enough to figure out the amount of silver in your items. I am assuming that there is no collector value above the silver content in this case.

4. fretboard

fretboard Defender of Old Coinage!

Must be sterling silver and the price is a little lower for sterling but I don't know how much lower. If you go up to the search option you may be able to find some past postings or someone else will be around later in the day.

5. Cloudsweeper99

Cloudsweeper99 Treasure Hunter

I think the offer you received is typical. If you shop around you might do a bit better. This is a real-life example of why it is better to make your silver purchases ASEs. What seems like a bargain going in frequently isn't one when it is time to sell.

6. playin4funami

playin4funami Junior Member