What Does it All Mean?

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by midas1, Oct 31, 2009.

1. midas1

midas1 Exalted Member

I've been googling prices for high quality 2009 American Silver Eagle coins and the prices are all over the place. Most years, since they were issued, during the 80's I've bought at leaSt two proof ASE. This year the mint hasn't sold ASE proofs as far as I know. Any recommendations for fair dealer that sell these coins? I don't have an eBay account.

I've never known the US Mint to sell first strike coins but I see them all over the place. Are they worth the added price and how/where do the original purchasers find them?

What about Early Release coins? Do they sell at a premium over time?

I bought a gold american eagle 2009 MS70 early release and gold american buffalo 2009 MS70 early release. Over time does the "early release" earmark add any value to the coins? Both coins were graded by NGC.

Does it make sense to send a proof 2009 American Bufffalo coin to
    NGC or PGC to be graded. I know a lot of people did that with the gold UHR Saint Gaudens but then it no longer fits in the box that came with the coin.

Thanks

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Cloudsweeper99

Cloudsweeper99 Treasure Hunter

First release, first strike, early release, etc. are scams in my opinion. I also wouldn't pay to have a bullion coin graded unless you are very very [did I mention very] sure it will come back as a 70.

4. midas1

midas1 Exalted Member

I agree. I believe the Mint did a good job w/ the 2009 UHR St. Gaudens. EBay was full of offers for the 2009 slabbed but IMO it ruined the nice presentation the Mint did w/ that coin. I really would like to see them create a 2oz UHR St Guadens because the 1oz coin is a bit small.

5. GoldenFire

GoldenFire Coin Hoarder

Two ounces? Two? I can’t even afford the one ounce coin! :headbang:

6. midas1

midas1 Exalted Member

"Two ounces? Two? I can’t even afford the one ounce coin!