What did you start with?

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by OzRadio, May 28, 2005.

1. OzRadio

OzRadio New Member

I'm new to coin collecting and this forum. Wondering how folks moved into collecting once you decided to do more than dig through pocket change. I visited the local coin shop and the dealer was patient in answering questions. He suggested starting with Jefferson nickels. There's quite a few coins but none that are especially expensive. Inexpensive is good now because the family budget is tight and I won't feel comfortable plunking down even 5 or 10$ for a coin until I'm more comfortable with grading and knowing what's really worth what. I tend to be a completist collector, in that I like putting together sets or runs of a collectible, so buying random, unrelated coins would drive me crazy. So are Jeffersons as good a set as any to start with? I was going to start with Lincoln Memorials but my son and I are having fun searching through bank rolls so I'll hold off buying any of those for now. Thanks for any input.
    Ryan

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. miker

miker New Member

My uncle started me with my first coin set in Lincoln cents. I could go to the bank, spend 2 or 3 dollars for rolls of cents, and have a good (and rewarding)time searching the rolls. I would think that even today you and your son could experience the same with Lincolns or with Jeffersons. Since your budget is limited, you might go with an 'I owe you' in the spot for key (read expensive) dates. But even if you purchased a 'fine' or 'good' key date, they wouldn't be too expensive. The 1938S (approx $3.00 for EF) and 1939D (approx $10.00 for EF) will be your most expensive non-error coins for the nickel. Good hunting to you and your son

4. jd3681

jd3681 Senior Member