What am I missing about this 50 Kopeck?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Mike Willner, Feb 12, 2008.

1. Mike Willner

Mike Willner Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. GDJMSP

GDJMSP Numismatist Moderator

Just because a seller is asking $400 doesn't mean the coin is actually worth that.

4. Mike Willner

Mike Willner Member

I agree... but as a newbie I'd like to make sure I am not overlooking some nuance. Or, perhaps he is just grossly overcharging (I double checked, it is actually $500!).

5. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

I would look elsewhere.

6. grivna

grivna Junior Member

I agree.

The terms of sale are particularly objectionable: "If for any reason you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, you may return it in original packaging and original condition within 7 days of receipt of the merchandise for a FULL REFUND of the purchase price less S&H and 10% restocking fee. Buyer is responsible for return shipping charges."

So, if the goods are not satisfactory, you pay shipping both ways and the seller penalizes you for using your (rather limited) return privilege by keeping 10% of your "full refund" as a "restocking fee" (in this case, $49.90).

With respect to the price demanded, Krause prices for Russian coins are almost completely useless because they are hopelessly out of date. But even so, I would not consider paying the asking price for this coin even if I agreed with the grading (which I do not).

7. Mike Willner

Mike Willner Member

On that note, where would I get more recent pricing other then what is being offered on line? Is there a world coin equivalent of Coin Dealers Newsletter or Coin Values?

8. grivna

grivna Junior Member

Not that I know.

Check auction prices at major dealers (Baldwin, Markov, Kuenker, M&M, UBS).