Silver bullion

Discussion in 'Bullion Investing' started by silvereagle82, Nov 25, 2004.

1. silvereagle82

silvereagle82 World Gold Collector

I would first and foremost state that I am a beginner coin collector interesting in UNC silver bullion coins.
    I am just about complete with a full set of silver eagles and have a several pandas, austrialian lunar series to date and a few britian britannias.

My question is this, I see several non-government mint coins and bars (ie. Sunshine mint, Englehard mint, etc) that are sold (ebay, websites)at basically the same price as a US Silver eagle. Shouldn't these non-government coins sell at a substantially discount to the Silver eagle. I would think these coins would not have the same "collector" value as the Eagle and are strictly sold for silver value therefore why buy them if they are not closer to the silver market rate ??

Am I thinking about this wrong??

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. pcrdnadave

pcrdnadave Senior Member

They can't sell at a "substantial" discount since even Silver Eagles only sell for spot silver plus a small premium (during the year they are issued). I think the premium on the non-government silver ounces is a little bit smaller though. Libertads and Maple leafs are nice too.

4. cladking

cladking Coin Collector

The silver eagles usually trade at a significant premium to most private bars and many of the foreign ones. There are some private bars that are quite scarce and/ or quite desirable so collectors trade these at much higher prices. Physical silver has traded at premiums as great as 20% and discounts as great as 15% over the years. Retail would usually be about 10% above these numbers.

5. silvereagle82

silvereagle82 World Gold Collector

Cladking,
    When you say "silver has traded at premiums as great as 20% and discounts as great as 15%", are you talking about as compared to market spot prices??

6. kaparthy

kaparthy Well-Known Member