Price for a MS 61 5$ Liberty

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by jjm861, Dec 15, 2008.

1. jjm861

jjm861 New Member

Hello All,

I am a novice collector and am thinking about purchasing my first gold 5$ Liberty....nothing too expensive maybe a nice MS 61. For the most common dates, what would be a fair market price to purchase?

One more question. I have read many threads on this forum that have made me very sceptical about purchasing on the online bay company. Unless the coin is slabbed, should I stay away?

Thanks for your help !!!!

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. rld14

rld14 Custom User Title

eBay is a place where I buy a ton of coins, it's also a place where it is VERY easy to get burned.

I don't collect gold coins and don't know much about them, but I will say that I keep hearing people warn about buying raw coins on eBay, particularly gold ones. To me any raw gold coin on eBay is worth melt value.

I would think that if it's a reputable seller with good feedback from selling coins, I'd have no problem buying an NGC or PCGS ir an ANACS coin there.

4. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

Grey Sheet Ask (dealer wholesale) is $300 in MS-60 and $350 in MS-62. Interpolating between these two points gives us a price of $325 in MS-61. But you can't buy the coin from a dealer for that price so you will need to add a percentage to that price. You will have to be the judge as to what that percentage is.

To answer your second question, while counterfeit Liberty Half Eagles exist they are not nearly as common as Indian $2 1/2 and $5. So use caution when buying these coins raw. My suggestion is for you to buy your coin from a reputable coin dealer rather than raw off eBay. Alternatively you could look for the coin on Teletrade. Teletrade only sells slabbed coins.

Welcome to CoinTalk. Hope you hang around.

5. kanga

kanga 65 Year Collector

Here's how I evaluate "in between" grades.